SustainU for a Greener Bonnaroo

SustainU is proud to partner with the Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival to promote environmental, social and economic sustainability.

WHAT A DIFFERENCE A SHIRT CAN MAKE!
SustainU is providing over 9000 Bonnaroo volunteer and staff shirts. These shirts are made in the USA (Tennessee, in fact!) and from 100% recycled materials. The social and economic impact of these shirts is pretty big!

9000 recycled, made in USA shirts is (approximately!) equal to:

  • 6.4 millions gallons of water. That would supply almost 60 families with enough water for a full year.
  • 2250 gallons of gasoline. Enough for a mid-size car to drive around the world over 3 times!
  • 108,000 kg of CO2 emissions. That’s like taking 54 cars off the road for one year.
  • 1250 kW of electricity. Enough energy to power and average U.S. home for a month
  • Livable wages for 30 people for 3 months!

Bonnaroo and SustainU are working hard to make a difference. Thank you for your support!

ONE for ALL CLOTHING DRIVE

The One for All Program is a SustainU initiative that provides consumer discounts and prizes in exchange for used clothing. Donations are given locally to support those in need.
“Many people do not realize that donated textiles not only reduce the waste stream to our landfills, but also often support job training programs,” said Rich Goodstone, Bonnaroo Partner. “The One for All Clothing Drive benefits everyone and makes a positive difference for both our planet and people.”

For each bag of clothes donated, patrons will receive vouchers that can be redeemed for various prizes at the Clean Vibes Trading Post, an existing program at Bonnaroo which provides incentives to patrons who collect recycling from festival grounds.

“The Clean Vibes Trading Post is excited to be partnering with Sustain U at this year’s Bonnaroo. Sustain U’s products exemplify a concept about which we strive to educate festival patrons.  This is the concept of ‘closing the loop’ – reusing items that might otherwise be landfilled and turning them into usable goods.”  Said Anna Borosky, President of Clean Vibes Trading Post, Inc.

Clothing will be accepted at locations near the entrance to Centeroo at the 2012 Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival in Manchester, TN from June 7-10. All donations will benefit local charities.

EVERY SHIRT HAS a STORY (TO SHARE)!
Many people do not realize the difference a shirt can make! The shirts below tell a little bit the Story Behind the Shirt. Send a tweet to your favorite band and let them know what they can do to make a difference! (Band list and twitter handles below.)

 

Visit the SustainU tent in PlanetRoo to find out more!

TWEET THE STORY! #WearABetterStory @SustainU @Bonnaroo
Encourage your favorite band to use American Recycled Clothing!

Afrocubism
Alabama Shakes @alabama_shakes
Ali Wong @aliwong3000
Alice Cooper @realalicecooper
Alo @alomusic
Amy Schumer @amyschumer
Art vs. Science @artvsscience
Aziz Ansari @azizansari
Bad Brains @badbrains777
Battles @battles
Ben Folds Five @benfolds
Ben Howard
Big Freedia @bigfreedia
Big Gigantic @biggigantic
Black Box Revelation @bbrofficial
Black Star
Blind Pilot @blindpilot
Bon Iver @boniver
Brian Posehn @thebrianposehn
By Lightning!
Caitlin Rose @TheCaitlinRose
Chappo @chappomusic
Charles Bradley and His Ex Traordinaires @charles_bradley
Cherub @CHERUBlamusica
Childish Gambino @donaldglover
Chuck Mean @chuckmead22
City and Colour @cityandcolour
Clare and The Reasons @clareandreasons
Colin Hay @colinhay
Cosmic Suckerpunch @Csuckerpunch
Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. @dalejrjrmusic
Danny Brown @xdannyxbrownx
Danzing Legacy
Das Racist @dasracist
Dawes @dawestheband
Debo Band @deboband
Delta Spirit @deltapirit
Dispatch @dispatchmusic
Drondo
Ema @EMAthorstar
Feist @feistmusic
Fitz & the Tantrums @fitzandtantrums
Flogging Molly @_floggingmolly
Fly Folden Eagle
Flying Lotus @flyinglotus
Foster the People @fosterthepeople
Fruit Bats @fruitbatsmusic
Fun. @ournameisfun
Garfunkel & Oates @garfunkeloates
Gary Clark Jr @garyclarkjr
Glossary @GlossaryTN
Grouplove @grouplove
Here We Go Magic @HEREWEGOMAGIC
Hey Rosettai @heyrosetta
Honey Island Swamp Band @HISBNOLA
Ivan Naville’s Dumpsaphunk
James Wallace & the Naked Light @nonakedlight
Janka Nabay & The Bubu Gang
Jukebox the Ghost @jukeboxtheghost
K-Flay @kflay
Kathllen Ed Wards @kittythefool
Katie Herzig @katieherzig
Kendrick Lamar @kendrick_lamar
Kenny Rogers @_kennyrogers
Khaira Arby & Her Band @KhairaArby
Kurt Vile & the Violators
Kyle Kinane
LA-33 @OrquestaLA33
Laura Marling
Little Dragon @littledragon
Lp @lprock
Ludacris @ludacris
Mac Miller @macmiller
Machines Are People Too @M_R_P_2
Major Lazer @majorlazer
Marc Maron @marcmaron
Mariachi El Bronx @the_bronx
Marina Orchestra @marinaorchetra
Matt Sucich @EsMatteo
Michael Kiwanuka @michaelkiwanuka
Mike O’Connell
Mimosa @TigranMimosa
Mogwai @mogwaiband
Monstro @monstroband
Moon Taxi @ridethemoontaxi
Need Tobreathe @needtobreathe
Oberhofer @OBERHOFERMUSIC
Orgone @orgonemusic
Paladino @Paladino_Music
Pedriot Martinez Group @pmartinezmusic
Pete Holmes @peteholmez
Phantogram @phantogram
Phish @phish
Pujol @DANIELPUJOL
Punch Brothers @punchbrothers
Puscifer
Radiohead @radiohead
Red Baraat @redbaraat
Red Hot Chili Pepers @chilipeppers
Reggie Watts @reggiewatts
Rhys Darby @rhysiedarby
Robert Ellis @robertellis_
Robery Francis @RobertFrancisHQ
Rodrigo y Gabriela and C.U.B.A. @rodgab
Rollin’ in the Hay @HAYtweets
Rory Scovel @roryscovel
Rubblebucket @Rubblebucket
Sam Bush Band @Sam_Bush
Santigold @santigold
Sarah Jarosz @sarahjarosz
SBTRKT @sbtrkt
Shahidah Omar @shahidahomar
Sister Sparrow & the Dirty Birds @sistersparrowdb
Skrillex @skrillex
Soja @sojalive
Spectrum Road
St. Vincent @st_vincent
Steven Bernstein’s Moto Plays Sly
Steven Wright @stevenwright
Superjam
Tauk @taukband
The Antlers @theantlers
The Avett Brothers @theavettbros
The Beach Boys @thebeachboys
The Black Lips @theblacklips
The Cave Singers @thecavesingers
The Civil Wars @thecivilwars
The Deep Dark Woods @theddws
The Devil Markes Three
The Joy Formidable @joyformidable
The Kooks @thekooksmusic
The Lonely Forest @thelonelyforest
The Main Squeeze @mainsqueezeme
The Roots @theroots
The Shins @theshins
The Silent Comedy @_silentcomedy
The Soul Rebels @soulrebelsno
The Staves @thestaves
The Temper Trap @thetempertrap
The War on Drugs @warondrugsjams
The Word
Trampled by Turtles @tbtduluth
Trixie Whitley @trixie_whitley
Tune-yards @tuneyards
Two Door Cinema Club @tdcinemaclub
Umphrey’s McGee @umphreysmcgee
Valient Thorr @valientthorr
Water Knot
We Are Augustines @weareaugustines
White Denim @whitedenimmusic
Wild Cub @wildcubmusic
World Champion Judah Friedlander @JudahWorldChamp
Yelawolf @yelawolf
Young the Giant @youngthegiant
Yuna @yunamusic

Leave a Reply